Awards from the 90th Annual Meeting

All News

The Garland Chamber of Commerce hosted its 90th Annual Meeting celebrate all of 2021’s accomplishments, sponsored by Texas Security Bank, Dallas College, Express Employment Professionals, & Peak Performance Construction.

The Chamber staff and board of directors were pleased to recognize the following individuals for their contributions to the organization and the Garland community.

Outstanding Business for the Arts Award: 

  • Intrinsic Smokehouse & Brewery, Cary Hodson

Most Creative Social Media Award
  • Express Employment Professionals, Garland, TX

Distinguished Leader Award

  • Merrill Balanciere, Class 22 "It's about time!"
Most Engaged Member
  • 1st: Melissa Varela, Texas Security Bank
  • 2nd: Russell Duckworth, American Bank
  • 3rd: Jeff Bass, District 1 & Owner of Dickey's Barbecue Pit

Propel’s Young Professional of the Year Award

  • Veronica Springer, Epiroc Drilling Solutions

Retiring Directors

  • Bryan Bradford, 2015-2021
  • Dr. Erika Crump, 2018-2021
  • Dr. Ricardo Lopez, 2019-2021
  • Lance Luna, 2021
  • Larry Mas, 2018-2021
  • Michael Roth, 2018-2021
  • Robert A. Smith, 2018-2021
Here are a few words from Bryan Bradford, City of Garland:

"It has been a genuine pleasure to serve on the Chamber Board for (I guess) 7 years now.

The Chamber refers to itself as the Connecting Source – I always thought of that in terms of connecting business to each other. But during my years on the Board, I began to appreciate the fact that the Chamber doesn’t just connect business organizations but it is what brings together the community’s various entries and groups such as:  the School District, the City, the College District, the Work Force Commission, our local non-profit organizations, our legislators, as well as the business community.

Historically, it is the Chamber that has worked to bring these disparate groups together to tackle Garland’s challenges and seize on unique opportunities.  I have grown to realize just how truly invaluable the Chamber has been in connecting all of us in this community.  In our society that seems to be dividing itself over every possible distinction – it’s refreshing to have an organization dedicated to bringing people together.

In my capacity with the City, I have worked with Chamber for about 20 years now but it was great to spend the last 7 of those years on the board.  The Chamber staff is superb and now that I am going off the board I won’t feel so guilt trying to steal them.

My only regret is that I am going off the board just as one of my favorite people, Julie Alexander, is taking the reigns as Chairman.  I know she will do an excellent job.

Thank you so much for the opportunity to serve."

2022 Board of Directors
Julie Alexander, Great Teams - Great Results, Chair
Shonda Brown, Micropac
Donna Butterfield, Frost Bank
Shana Carter, Roach Feed & Seed
Shon Cass, Texas Security Bank
Johnny Clark, Express Employment Professionals
Anita Collins, American National Bank of Texas, Past Chair
Dr. Kay Eggleston, Dallas College | Richland
Robert Gardner, Gardner Wallace Financial Solutions
Becky King, City of Garland
Kristina Lawson, Daisy Brand
Dana Lodge, City of Garland | Visit Garland
Chris Merlick, Label Solutions, First Vice Chair
Troy Miller, TAI Engineering
Amanda O'Neil, General Dynamics OTS
Burak Ozcan, Ferah Tex-Med Kitchen
Chad Przano, Epiroc, Chair Elect
Jud Rex, City of Garland
Dr. Susanna Russell, Garland Independent School District
Dr. Eddie Tealer, Dallas College | Eastfield
Kevin Tolly, Plastipak Packaging
Scott Weismann, Weismann & Associates
Dr. Pyeper Wilkins, Dallas College
Peter Zehr, CarrollCLEAN

All News